Skip to main content

Department of Hematology & Transfusion Medicine Unit


The Department of Haematology and the Transfusion Medicine Unit (formerly known as the Blood Bank) began operations on August 1, 1983 by providing diagnostic, therapeutic, research, and learning services. It begins as a Pathology Sevice to the early Hospital USM during the early days of HUSM operation after its opening in 1982. A year later in 1983, the Pathology Service was expaded into three main Laboratory based Departments and one Unit; Haematology Laboratory, Chemical Pathology Laboratory, Microbology Laboratory and Blood Bank Unit which was under the HUSM. Haematology Laboratory and Blood Bank Unit was still managed by a single management of Head of Department headed by the previous Head of Department, Professor Dr. Normah Jamaluddin. 
In line with the university's objective to make USM a center for expert reference and research from within and outside the country, these two units are constantly evaluating and developing new services related to the field of hematology and transfusion medicine.
Officially, this unit began full operation on 16 January 1984 with a staff of 13 people led by a Medical Officer. On January 22, 1984, the Blood Bank Laboratory began offering tests related to blood use to patients and producing blood components for transfusion use. In line with developments in the field of transfusion, the Blood Bank Unit not only supplies blood, but also provides therapeutic services and ‘advisory’ services for the treatment / care of patients. Therefore, the Blood Bank Unit was renamed the Transfusion Medical Unit starting on 01 June 2003.
Currently, the Department of Haematology is under the administration of the School of Medical Sciences (PPSP), while the Transfusion Medicine Unit is under the administration of Universiti Sains Malaysia Hospital (HOSPITAL USM). USM Hospital Haematology Laboratory is located on the ground floor, Block 25 between the Outpatient Clinic and USM Red Square (Student Square). Close to Haematology Department (Block 10) and Pathology Laboratory as well as Dietetic Clinic.